Automotive News / Industry / Future Vehicle Discussion Automotive news and discussion about upcoming vehicles

Why is there no "big block" I4 and V6 engines?

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2003, 10:14 PM

Why is there no "big block" I4 and V6 engines?

You have 6.0L (.75L per cyl.) and 8.1L (1L per cyl.) V8s and 8.3L (.83L per cyl.) V10s that all have a high displacment per cyl. This seems common in V8 engines but not in 4 and 6 cyl. engines. The biggest I4 on the market right now seems to be 2.5L (0.625L per cyl.) and the biggest car V6 a 3.8L (0.63L per cyl.)

Why doesn't someone build a 5.0L V6 or a 3.0L+ I4????

it would seem like a big block V6 would put out as much power as a small V8 but be cheaper to build. why not chop 2 cyl. off of the GM 8.1L V8 and build a 6.0L V6?
Old 07-17-2003, 10:37 PM

I'm not an engine expert, but this is what I've picked up. In the case of inline 4 cylinder engines, vibrations start to become a problem around 2.3-2.4L. This is why you rarely see a four with a larger displacement. I suspect that the same thing is true for V6's, and I'll take a wild guess and say 4.3L is close to the limit. (In the case of inline 6's, ford did make a 5.0L inline 6 for many years and I think chrysler slant 6's could be bored/stroked to a pretty decent size).

I also think there are some emission concerns with larger piston diameters.
Old 07-18-2003, 02:19 AM