Autocross and Road Racing Technique There is more to life than a straight line

Some Good Tires??

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2004, 08:59 PM

Some Good Tires??

Does anyone have some ideas on good tires for a newbie? When Spring rolls back around, I would like to get into Autocross. I have an extra set of 16" wheels, and I'm looking into some tires. What are some good tires for a newbie? Any help is apprciated. Thanks, Tyler
Old 10-12-2004, 05:21 AM

Re: Some Good Tires??

Kumho V700 Victoracer
Old 10-12-2004, 01:50 PM

Go here: http://www.tirerack.com
look under competition tires.
Old 10-13-2004, 11:55 AM

Going on tirerack.com you will get a bunch of people's opinions about tires but they aren't always on par. I'm a novice at the www.boston-bmwcca.org autocross this year though I've gone to like 8 events now. I only know about street tires, and if your new at autocrossing you should def start in the street tire classes. It appears the most popular street tire by far over any other is the Falken Azenis, though I don't know if you can get them in a size that will fit a camaro wheel. Kumho Ecsta MX's seem to be what a lot of fbody cars use. I currently drive on Nitto 555 street tires which suck for autocrossing with a soft sidewall and dont have that good traction.

I'm wondering how the BFG gforce KD's would perform for autocrossing and if those are considered as a street tire. I've heard they stick better than the Nitto 555R drag radials which are considered R compound. If BFG KD's are considered street tires and stick better than 555R's then I think I'll buy the BFGs immediately, and start smoking everyone in my car class!
Old 10-14-2004, 10:44 AM

For your first year, I'd stick with street tires until you learn how not to overcook your car and tires. With r-compounds, those mistakes are going to be more co$tly. Kumho Ecsta MX's are relatively cheap, and you can drive to the events on them.

In season 2, look toward the Kumho V710.

Have fun!