Autocross and Road Racing Technique There is more to life than a straight line

prepping for road race... help me make a checklist

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2006, 12:38 AM

prepping for road race... help me make a checklist

Sounds like a good idea to put together a checklist for what might be needed and what to be cautious about when going to the road races. here's my questions...
1)should i use switch to some kind of special high temp brake fluid and power steering fluid??
2) how long can i run constantly before i run into trans and rear end overheating? (t-56 and 10 bolt wth 3.73's, no coolers.)
3) How hard can i be on stock ls1 rotors and hawk pads before i warp the rotors?
I've never done the road courses before so any experience would be great. I'd love to get out this year or next, so i'd like to get a good idea.
Old 07-18-2006, 04:45 PM

Re: prepping for road race... help me make a checklist

I have an LT1 car with LS1 brakes as well and do road race it so I'll take a shot at this.

1. For your first time out all I would really do is make sure that all of your fluids are fresh. That's a full flush of the brake fluid and power steering fluid for sure. I run the Valvoline Syntec brake fluid that you can get at most parts stores and it's fine as long as it's fresh. The LT1 power steering pumps are notorious for boiling the fluid so even after you flush it you'll need to monitor it during the day. A lot of guys use a turkey baster at the track to empty the resevoir and put in some fresh fluid between sessions. A company called Turn One makes a replacement pump just for road racing and it's what I run but I wouldn't spend the money until you've at least done a couple of events.

2. I've never had any overheating issues with the T56 or the 10 bolt.