JasonD
09-08-2002, 02:32 PM
Anyone know this guy?
He keeps getting the Klez virus in e-mail(like everyone else). As most of you know when it sends itself to someone, it spoofs the return e-mail address.
(See THIS link (http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.klez.gen@mm.html) for information on how it spoofs e-mail addresses. Click the link and scroll to the part halfway down where is says "Email spoofing")
The bigger problem is, it is spoofing an old e-mail address of mine that still happens to work. It is an alias e-mail address so I can't send mail from it, but when someone sends e-mail to it, it gets forwarded to my current working e-mail address. It doesn't even exist, technically. In fact, I haven't used it in over 5 years.
Greg is getting these virus e-mails and thinks they are coming from me, when it actually isn't due to the e-mail address spoofing (see explanation above). As he gets them, he doesn't bother looking at the e-mail header information (which contains the real return e-mail address) and just replies to the spoofed return address (my old one mentioned above) with threats of how I keep sending him viruses (which I am not. Again, see explanation above) and he is going to mailbomb me or something if I don't stop (how can I stop something that I am not even doing in the first place?). I have replied a couple of times explaning that they are not coming from me, I have the best virus protection available, and that e-mail address doesn't even exist and gave him links to read about how the virus spoofs return e-mail addresses.
He is obviously not reading them because he keeps threatening me with dumb crap like flooding my e-mail box and stuff like that. He says he is an "IT Professional" and has a big pipe and can shut me down, etc... If he was a professional, he would understand how basic e-mail works. http://web.camaross.com/bb/rolleyes.gif
So, after e-mailing him with no message back like "Gee, I am sorry. I didn't mean to be such an ass making threats over something I know nothing about", I have tried looking him up to call him and explain it to him but that didn't work out well. I have ICQ'd him telling him the real deal with no avail.
Does anyone know him personally? He runs http://www.holisticpage.com/camaro .
If anyone knows him, can you please call him up or e-mail him and tell him to knock off the threats until he takes the time to actually read the facts on things?
And Greg, if you are reading this...
GET A CLUE. http://web.camaross.com/bb/mad.gif
------------------
Jason Debler - Webmaster/Editor
CamaroZ28.Com * TurboBuick.Com (http://www.turbobuick.com) * ChasingStanley.Com (http://www.chasingstanley.com)
2002 Camaro SS (http://www.camaroz28.com/~jason) - DMS Springs (http://www.dynamicmotorsports.com) and BMR Suspension (http://www.bmrfabrication) coming soon!
He keeps getting the Klez virus in e-mail(like everyone else). As most of you know when it sends itself to someone, it spoofs the return e-mail address.
(See THIS link (http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.klez.gen@mm.html) for information on how it spoofs e-mail addresses. Click the link and scroll to the part halfway down where is says "Email spoofing")
The bigger problem is, it is spoofing an old e-mail address of mine that still happens to work. It is an alias e-mail address so I can't send mail from it, but when someone sends e-mail to it, it gets forwarded to my current working e-mail address. It doesn't even exist, technically. In fact, I haven't used it in over 5 years.
Greg is getting these virus e-mails and thinks they are coming from me, when it actually isn't due to the e-mail address spoofing (see explanation above). As he gets them, he doesn't bother looking at the e-mail header information (which contains the real return e-mail address) and just replies to the spoofed return address (my old one mentioned above) with threats of how I keep sending him viruses (which I am not. Again, see explanation above) and he is going to mailbomb me or something if I don't stop (how can I stop something that I am not even doing in the first place?). I have replied a couple of times explaning that they are not coming from me, I have the best virus protection available, and that e-mail address doesn't even exist and gave him links to read about how the virus spoofs return e-mail addresses.
He is obviously not reading them because he keeps threatening me with dumb crap like flooding my e-mail box and stuff like that. He says he is an "IT Professional" and has a big pipe and can shut me down, etc... If he was a professional, he would understand how basic e-mail works. http://web.camaross.com/bb/rolleyes.gif
So, after e-mailing him with no message back like "Gee, I am sorry. I didn't mean to be such an ass making threats over something I know nothing about", I have tried looking him up to call him and explain it to him but that didn't work out well. I have ICQ'd him telling him the real deal with no avail.
Does anyone know him personally? He runs http://www.holisticpage.com/camaro .
If anyone knows him, can you please call him up or e-mail him and tell him to knock off the threats until he takes the time to actually read the facts on things?
And Greg, if you are reading this...
GET A CLUE. http://web.camaross.com/bb/mad.gif
------------------
Jason Debler - Webmaster/Editor
CamaroZ28.Com * TurboBuick.Com (http://www.turbobuick.com) * ChasingStanley.Com (http://www.chasingstanley.com)
2002 Camaro SS (http://www.camaroz28.com/~jason) - DMS Springs (http://www.dynamicmotorsports.com) and BMR Suspension (http://www.bmrfabrication) coming soon!