Appearance Hoods, spoilers, custom mods, accessories, etc.

Install switch for neons

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2003, 09:14 PM

Question Install switch for neons

I'm installing a switch for my 2 neons so they have a nice clean looking install (instead of them being plugged into the cigarette lighter). I have made a schematic of how I think it needs to be hooked up. It's posted on the top of my webpage. Does this look right?

Also, I'm installing the switch in the ashtray. Anybody have any idea on how to make a small panel to fit in there?
Old 08-03-2003, 11:16 PM

When I installed my switch, I just pulled out the ash tray and drilled a hole for the switch to fit through and then attached the switch. Pretty easy.

As for wiring, I'm not very good at it so someone else will probably chime in and help ya. Good luck.
Old 08-04-2003, 02:19 AM

Pic is in the sig somewhere....I also got a switch in the ashtray. It wasnt too hard. When you wire it up, just run the power wires to one lead on the switch, and then run your power source to the other lead, and make all your grounds. Thats all you gotta do.
Old 08-04-2003, 04:28 PM

Originally posted by The Captain
Pic is in the sig somewhere....I also got a switch in the ashtray. It wasnt too hard. When you wire it up, just run the power wires to one lead on the switch, and then run your power source to the other lead, and make all your grounds. Thats all you gotta do.
I've read that I need an in-line fuse. Looking at the diagram on my webpage, is this the right spot?
Old 08-04-2003, 05:34 PM
Banned

Thumbs up

Heh, I have my manual fan switch right below the cig lighter input, my underdash neons switch concealed in the ash tray area & my ac vent neons switch in a nice custom switch box that I made in the tape holder spot of my center console. There's room for about 4 more switches in my box too.
Old 08-04-2003, 06:22 PM

Originally posted by SloMofo