Appearance Hoods, spoilers, custom mods, accessories, etc.

Help me research: 1999 Fern Green Metallic

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2009, 03:02 AM

Help me research: 1999 Fern Green Metallic

According to a lot of info online, a new color was available for 1999 Camaros called Fern Green Metallic. I'm no expert on colors I don't have a personal interest in, so I'm kind of like... Wait. What?????

I've never heard this information before, but it's listed on many websites.

I've read that the GM paint code is supposed to be 36. This can't be right, because 36 is something called Medium Dark Teal Metallic (may not be the exact GM name, because it is more of a description). And I wouldn't think a fern

would be medium dark teal metallic. I'm not exactly a pro at looking up paint colors though, I normally just have the information I have, and... have it. This bothers me though.

It was obviously not a color that made it to production, but I know next to nothing about it.

Any ideas green fans?
Old 03-13-2009, 08:43 AM

Thought the green in 99 was Bright Green Metallic or was that just 98?

Have you looked in the Camaro White Book?

You have me curious now for sure.

edit: here's the link from Camaro Source on colors - shows BGM, not FGM...
http://www.camarosource.ca/php/camar...trim&year=1999

Last edited by niknik; 03-13-2009 at 08:47 AM.
Old 03-13-2009, 01:06 PM

Yeah, BGM is the color that was actually used and carried into 1999.

But a LOT of sites show Fern Green Metallic being introduced in 1999. Even Camarosource does on their main page for 1999 in the 'changes' category or whatever. Very weird.

Trying to figure out this mystery.
Old 03-13-2009, 01:17 PM
Banned

I can't say I've ever heard of that color, man. I know the bright green metallic, and have seen it on a couple of cars around here, but fern green metallic is a new one on me.
Old 03-13-2009, 01:56 PM

This is supposedly Fern Green. Doesn't look like a fern at all...