3rd Gen / L98 Engine Tech 1982 - 1992 Engine Related

New and need help!

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2014, 08:24 AM

Question New and need help!

Hi, and first, thanks for reading my thread (I hope I posted it in the correct spot)
I'm fairly new to cameros and even less experienced in working on cars! I found out a cpl years ago I have a terminal illness and this is kinda my project to help keep me going and keep from going crazy not being able to work lol.

I have a few issues I'm workin on with it and any helpful tips will be much appreciated.

A/C - the ac blows cold but only comes out the defrost, the lady we bought it from said this just started happening
Speedometer - it works sometimes for a few seconds and them quits
Temp gauge - never moves
I started yesterday on changing the plugs, wires, dist cap, rotor, oil, air filter, egr valve , PVC valve - are their any other parts I should change as regular maintenance?
I also broke the oil pressure sensor while getting to the last plug so I'm changing it today also lol!

I was told at the auto parts that using synthetic oil would increase horsepower, improve fuel mileage, and extend the engine life ( while I'm sure not all of this is true, if any of it is I'll be happy lol) is this a good choice?

It has, I'm guessing, a regular 305 engine in it and is an automatic

Sorry for posting such a long post and thanks in advance for any and all help and knowledge!
Old 06-22-2014, 09:26 AM

Re: New and need help!

Welcome aboard. What year and model is the Camaro? Is it the original engine? Stock wiring harness being used?
Old 06-22-2014, 10:50 AM

Thanks l, it's a 92 anniversary edition rs. I think it's the factory wiring harness (I'm lost on that) I posted a couple pictures but plan to post more once I get finished.
Old 06-22-2014, 12:42 PM
Administrator