3rd Gen / L98 Engine Tech 1982 - 1992 Engine Related

1985 Camaro Z28 5.0 TPI stalling/cuts out

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2008, 04:41 PM

1985 Camaro Z28 5.0 TPI stalling/cuts out

Hello i am a student that recently got a hold of a 1985 Chevy camaro v8 5.0 FI. I'm just now getting into working on cars i like it allot but my diagnosing skills are really bad. when i got it the battery was dead and the alternator was not working properly. i replaced both. now that it starts i now see that it doesn't like to stay running. On my way home it started to stop when i slowed down at a stop light. in order to keep it going i would try not to stop the car all the way and it would work. i got it home safely and did a tune up to try to fix it. the problem remained so i tried to replace the fuel filter. problem still remained. i noticed some of the tubes that to me look like a vacuum because they came from a sphere shaped object were damaged so i fixed them but i dont know if i fixed all the vacuum. now after all this when i start the car it will start nice and stay running strong but then the check engine light will come on and the rpm's will begin to drop. the engine sounds like its gonna turn off but it then the rpm's spike and the engine picks up and then begins to turn off again. it will continue doing this till it finally shuts off completely. what could the problem be?? im just getting into working on cars and i plan to do all the work myself but this problem has me stumped. thankyou for your time
Old 11-25-2008, 04:50 PM
Banned

could be a few things....

do you have a service manual for the car? it will tell you how to flash the codes out of it...get the codes and report back...
Old 11-25-2008, 06:44 PM

???

i got the book and i tells me something but i dont know where to look for a code 12 that it says begins the diagnostic it says.

use a smaller jumper wire to conect terminal b of the ALDL to terminal a.

what do they mean and where would the terminal be and