2010 - 2015 Camaro News, Sightings, Pictures, and Multimedia All 2010 - 2011 - 2012 - 2013 - 2014 - 2015 Camaro news, photos, and videos
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Some thoughts about the new ZL1.....

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2012, 03:36 PM
ALMIGHTY MEMBER

Some thoughts about the new ZL1.....

When I was a freshman in College (…..a very long time ago…….) I had a roommate that we shall call “Rann.”

Rann and I were both from Pennsylvania – although we grew up about 170 miles apart as he lived in the Lancaster/Harrisburg area – a place where many Amish and Mennonites had settled a century or more before. We’d met at Orientation and became fast friends. Rann’s father had two GM Dealerships – although neither one offered Chevrolet. Rann was a Pontiac guy thru and thru. We’d argue for hours as to why Camaro (or Firebird) was better than Firebird (or Camaro…) –

(….and of course I was always right…)

Rann’s family was, I believe, Mennonite. Because they ran two very successful automobile dealerships, I suspect they would have been seen as quite progressive within their Church --

Rann was the perfect gentleman.

Polite.

Very intelligent.

Well groomed.

Well spoken.

A best friend that you could always count on.

A true leader.

Rann would tell us of the number of Pontiacs and Oldsmobiles that they’d sell that were painted black. Now – back in the 60s and early 70s, black was not a popular seller – so I found all this quite fascinating.

Once some of their new Pontiacs and Oldsmobiles were ready for delivery, they would often be asked (by the customer) to paint the chromed bumpers black – as chrome was simply too “flashy” or too “attention-getting” – and many within the community simply did not want to EVER be seen as ‘flashy’ or ‘fancy.’ And sure enough, the first time I visited their Pontiac dealership, there was a Catalina Sedan – ready for delivery…..black wall tires, hubcaps instead of ‘flashy’ wheel covers – and the bumpers had been painted black!