2010 - 2015 Camaro Technical Discussion All 5th Generation Camaro technical discussion that doesn't fit in other forums

Check Engine Light Engine Misfire

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2011, 12:18 AM

Check Engine Light Engine Misfire

Hey. I am new to the message board. I have a 2010 Camaro with 16,000 miles on it and my check engine light came on in November. I took it into the shop right away, and after spending a couple of days there they concluded that the engine had misfired at some point, but they did not know why. They thought it may need a new coil, so the dealer ordered a coil/part just in case the check engine light came on again in the future. I left the dealer a little weary because they did not seem to have a direct answer to why the check engine light was on.

The following month, in later December/early January, the check engine light came back on. I took the car to the dealer and they ended up putting a new coil and spark plug in. I thought everything would be fine with the car now. But....

Today, a month later the check engine light came on again. I am taking it to the dealer tomorrow, but I am confused to why this keeps happening. Has anyone had any problems like this before?

I do live in Michigan and it has been cold out, but I always fill my tank up with gas once it gets to about a quarter of a tank. I do not think it's air getting in through the gas cap, since it's been about a week since I last filled the car up. I usually let the car warm up before driving too. The oil is always changed regularly, and I use synthetic. The only thing I can really think that might play a factor into it is that every time it has happened has been right after a snowfall of 4 or more inches and when the temperature was pretty low. The only change I have made to the car has been getting my regular tires switched to winter tires and back at the change of seasons.

Any thoughts???
Old 02-23-2011, 07:45 AM
Admin Emeritus

Re: Check Engine Light Engine Misfire